There’s a reason your vegetarian friends turn down jello and gummy bears. After watching this video, you may, too…
Gummy bears were a go-to treat for many of us growing up, and even as adults it’s sometimes natural to reach for them when a sweet snack is in store. But if you knew how they were made, would you still consume them?
Peach rings, gummy worms, and gummy bears are but a few treats made with gelatin, an ingredient derived from animal skin and bones. As you’ll view in the
horror film short video below, the process of producing gelatin is anything but humane.
If you’ve ever had vegetarian friends turn down jello and gummy bears, this is why…
Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens is responsible for enlightening the public on how a number of popular food items are produced. The activist writes on her blog:
“‘Jelly’ is candy. But only few people know they’re made of gelatine from the skin of pigs. Sweet?”
It’s important to note that there are vegan gelatin substitutes, namely agar (also called agar-agar) and Irish moss. Plus, a number of companies already create gelatin-free gummy treats, many which you can purchase at your local health food store. Delicious alternatives exist, but consumers must be informed of the cruelty that takes place so educated decisions can be made.
What are your thoughts? Please comment below and share this news!
This article (Once You See How Gummy Bears Are Made, You’ll Never Touch The Candy Again [Watch]) is free and open source. You have permission to republish this article under a Creative Commons license with attribution to the author and TrueActivist.com
Do you like our independent & investigative news? Then please check these two settings on Facebook to guarantee you don't miss our posts: